Picture this: You’re sitting in your vehicle at a stoplight, patiently waiting for it to change to green. You notice a car in front of you, a car behind you, and one on either side of you. Out of those four vehicles, chances are, one is uninsured and the others may be underinsured, meaning they only carry the minimum required by Florida law. You have no idea which it is, and any of them could... read more?
If the other driver is at-fault and his/her insurance company accepts liability, then the at-fault driver’s insurance company should provide you with a rental vehicle during the time your vehicle is being repaired or until you receive a check for the value of the vehicle. An issue can sometimes arise when the other driver’s insurance does not accept liability. The other driver’s... read more?
Florida is a No-Fault State, which means that if I am in a car accident – regardless of who is at fault – my automobile insurance is going to pay the first $10,000.00 of my medical bills. This is known as Personal Injury Protection (PIP). However, my insurance company is only going to pay 80% of my medical bills – with the remaining 20% my responsibility. I also may be subject to a... read more?
Yes, but before you talk to an insurance company or agree to do a recorded statement, please contact us first so we can advise you of your legal rights. An insurance company can refuse to provide you benefits if you are not complying with your policy. This is why it is important to speak to a lawyer so they can advise you of your legal rights regarding how to comply with your insurance company... read more?
Yes. You may still have a valid claim for personal injury if you weren’t wearing your seat belt in car accident. Florida law requires you to wear a seatbelt. If you are in a car accident and do not have your seatbelt on, you can still bring a claim.... read more?
Many primary care doctors have made a conscious decision not to treat auto injuries for several reasons. Some are not set up to submit their bills to auto insurers, which is different than submitting to health insurance; some do not want to be involved in the medical care of a patient that might ask them to later testify at trial; and some don’t want to deal with law firms and their regular... read more?
Ultimately, it is the person who caused the accident that is responsible for the cost of repairing your vehicle. When the at-fault party’s insurance company accepts liability for the accident, they will work with you to get an appraisal of the damage, determine repair costs, and discuss with you where the vehicle can be taken for the repairs. If the repairs would cost more that the vehicle is... read more?
Insurance companies are very wealthy and very powerful. They will unfortunately often times try to take advantage of those who have been injured in accidents by asking for sworn statements immediately after the event. Insurance companies will try to get you to make statements (often times regarding your injuries) that they can later use against you in court. We often see that the full extent of... read more?
PIP stands for personal injury protection. In Florida, PIP covers 80% of your medical bills when you are involved in a motor vehicle collision up to $10,000.00. PIP will also cover 60% of your lost wages under the same $10,000.00. When you are involved in a motor vehicle collision, you will use the PIP on your own insurance policy. If you do not own a vehicle, you can qualify for PIP through a... read more?
Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM) is insurance that you can purchase on your own policy to protect you if the person who injures you in a car accident has little or no insurance coverage. Florida law does not require drivers to purchase insurance coverage to pay for bodily injury they cause to others in car accidents! There are a surprising number of people who have no Bodily Injury Coverage (BI)... read more?
A no-fault state is one that has decided, through the laws of that state, that each owner and operator of a vehicle will be required to carry coverage on their automobile insurance to be used to cover medical expenses should an accident occur, regardless of who is at fault for that accident. This coverage, called Personal Injury Protection, PIP, or No-Fault, are all the same thing, and becomes... read more?
If you have had an accident in recent months, your insurance claims adjuster may ask for a recorded statement. Sometimes, when you give a statement, it can expedite the investigation, and it can speed up the process of your settlement claim. However, all too often, these statements are used by the insurance company to jeopardize your claim. It may be wise to exercise caution when asked to give a... read more?
Concussions are the most common kind of head injury, affecting millions of people in the US every year. They are frequently associated with sports-related accidents, but can also be caused by car accidents, trip and fall injuries, falling objects, and assaults. Depending on the extent of harm done and the quality of care received by the patient, the consequences can range from mild discomfort to... read more?
Concussions are the most common kind of head injury, affecting millions of people in the US every year. Known as a mild traumatic brain injury, concussions are generally caused by bumps, blows or jolts to the head or body, causing the brain to move in the skull and affect normal brain functionality. While frequently associated with sports-related accidents, they can also be caused by assaults,... read more?
When you are found to be not at fault for an accident, your insurance company should not raise your rates on your policy for having to use the coverages afforded to you under state law and that you have specifically purchased to protect yourself when an accident occurs. An insurance company can raise rates for a variety of reasons and if you are concerned about whether your rates have, or will... read more?