How long after an accident can you file a claim?

If you’ve been injured in an accident, there is no reason to hesitate or delay contacting a personal injury attorney. The sooner you contact the lawyer, the sooner they can begin working with you and for your potential claim. Information such as skid marks, debris location, witness testimonies and more can all be vital evidence in an accident claim.

In Florida, personal injury protection coverage (PIP) requires a person seeking PIP coverage to see a doctor within 14 days after the accident date. Florida law allows 2 years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit for a car crash, however we recommend you do not wait to bring your damage claim forward to your attorney.